Wednesday March 20, 2019

IHUK | GB to face Canada and USA at World Championship next year

Great Britain will face Canada, USA, Finland, Germany, hosts Slovakia, Denmark and France next year in their first return to the top level of the World Championship since 1994.Great Britain will face Canada, USA, Finland, Germany, hosts Slovakia, Denmark and France next year in their first return to the top level of the World Championship since 1994.

GB have been placed in Group A and will play their seven group matches in the city of Kosice.

USA and Canada were beaten semi-finalists at this year’s World Championship, before America beat the Canadians 4-1 to secure the bronze medal.

Current world champions Sweden are joined in Group B by Russia, Czech Republic, Switzerland, Norway, Latvia, Austria and Italy, with matches taking place in Bratislava.

The 16-team tournament will run from 10th to 26th May with teams playing each other once in the group stages for a total of seven group games.

The top four teams from each group will advance to the quarter-finals and the bottom team in each group being relegated to Division 1 Group A.

GB secured their place in the top flight by winning four of their five games in Division I Group A to claim the gold medal in Budapest last month. 

Head coach, Pete Russell, said: “Seeing the teams we will be playing next year really makes the magnitude of what we achieved in Budapest hit home. To play in Pool A is the ultimate and we are going to get to do that next season.

“It’s a fantastic group that awaits us in Slovakia. It’s going to be an amazing experience and we will be facing some of the best players on the planet.

“It is something that every one of us will embrace and this group of players has earned that right with the fantastic achievement in getting promotion last month. 

“The hard work will start straight away and we have a lot of planning to do over the next 12 months.

“It is going to be an amazing year for British ice hockey and we will be going to Slovakia with the aim of continuing to surprise people again.

“We went to Budapest with two goals - one was to stay in the division and the other was to Dare to Dream. We now go to Slovakia with the exact same mindset and to enjoy this fantastic opportunity that has been created by our stunning promotion.”


Cardiff Devils Cardiff 55 86
Belfast Giants Belfast 55 84
Nottingham Panthers Nottingham 57 67
Glasgow Clan Glasgow 56 65
Guilford Flames Guildford 55 61
Sheffield Steelers Sheffield 56 60
Fife Flyers Fife 55 60
Manchester Manchester 56 55
Coventry Blaze Coventry 55 55
Dundee Stars Dundee 56 54
MK Lightning MK 55 32
  2018/19 Standings  

Elite Ice Hockey League

The Elite Ice Hockey League (EIHL) is a professional ice hockey league in the United Kingdom formed in 2003. The league currently consists of 11 teams, with Braehead (SCO), Belfast (NIR), Cardiff (WAL), Coventry (ENG), Dundee (SCO), Fife (SCO), Guildford (ENG), Manchester (ENG), Milton Keynes (ENG), Nottingham (ENG) and Sheffield (ENG).

Elite League Logo


About Flyers

The Fife Flyers, established in 1938, are the oldest professional ice hockey team in the United Kingdom. The team has a history of success through the ages, with over 60 Scottish and British cups and titles to their name.

Fife Ice Arena, Rosslyn Street
Kirkcaldy, Fife, Scotland, KY1 3HS 

Phone: 01592568702
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Flyers on Social Media


twitterFollow Flyers on Twitter at

Facebook    Follow Flyers on Facebook at

Instagram    Follow Fife Flyers at

S5 Box