Wednesday March 20, 2019


The Elite Ice Hockey League Board have confirmed there will be an 11-team league structure for the upcoming season.

Following a league meeting, the board approved this format with each team facing each other six times in the regular season, playing each other three times at home and three times away.

This comes following the exit of Edinburgh Capitals last month and EIHL chairman Tony Smith says it’s not a day he has enjoyed.

“Having to meet to decide the way forward was not one we particularly relished after the circumstances involving Edinburgh,” he said.

“While we are sad to lose them, it means we have to move on and it’s by no means been an easy day for us in plotting the next step.

“As a league, we examined the options available to us at great depth and the most logical one to take was to go with 11 teams for the 2018/19 season.

“On behalf of the Elite League, I want to take this opportunity to thank Edinburgh Capitals for their contribution during their 13 years competing in this league and wish Scott Neil and everyone connected all the best for the future.

“It’s the next exciting step in our league and I’m looking forward to getting ready for the new campaign.”

The structure replaces the former league model that saw clubs play the teams in their own conference more times than the teams in the other Conferences.

The three Conferences will still remain, but all league games against Conference opponents will count towards the Conference Championship. 

The Gardiner Conference will now only have three teams instead of four, following Edinburgh’s departure, but each team will get 30 home games compared to 28 last year.

The structure for the Challenge Cup will be confirmed in due course and will be announced following the EIHL fixtures meeting in late June.


Cardiff Devils Cardiff 55 86
Belfast Giants Belfast 55 84
Nottingham Panthers Nottingham 57 67
Glasgow Clan Glasgow 56 65
Guilford Flames Guildford 55 61
Sheffield Steelers Sheffield 56 60
Fife Flyers Fife 55 60
Manchester Manchester 56 55
Coventry Blaze Coventry 55 55
Dundee Stars Dundee 56 54
MK Lightning MK 55 32
  2018/19 Standings  

Elite Ice Hockey League

The Elite Ice Hockey League (EIHL) is a professional ice hockey league in the United Kingdom formed in 2003. The league currently consists of 11 teams, with Braehead (SCO), Belfast (NIR), Cardiff (WAL), Coventry (ENG), Dundee (SCO), Fife (SCO), Guildford (ENG), Manchester (ENG), Milton Keynes (ENG), Nottingham (ENG) and Sheffield (ENG).

Elite League Logo


About Flyers

The Fife Flyers, established in 1938, are the oldest professional ice hockey team in the United Kingdom. The team has a history of success through the ages, with over 60 Scottish and British cups and titles to their name.

Fife Ice Arena, Rosslyn Street
Kirkcaldy, Fife, Scotland, KY1 3HS 

Phone: 01592568702
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Flyers on Social Media


twitterFollow Flyers on Twitter at

Facebook    Follow Flyers on Facebook at

Instagram    Follow Fife Flyers at

S5 Box