Sunday April 21, 2019

Pete Russell

Head coach Pete Russell has named his 23-man squad to represent Great Britain at next week’s World Championship in Budapest.

GB will face hosts Hungary, as well as Italy, Kazakhstan, Poland and Slovenia, from 22nd to 28th April.

The six-team Division I Group A tournament will take place at the Papp Laszlo Sportarena, as GB return to world ice hockey’s second tier for the first time since 2013 following their promotion in Belfast last year.

There are first GB World Championship call-ups for netminder Jackson Whistle, defencemen Dallas Erhardt and Zach Sullivan, along with forwards Ollie Betteridge, Luke Ferrara, Liam Kirk, Mike Hammond and Brett Perlini.

Lewis Hook, Ciaran Long, Jez Lundin, Evan Mosey (injury) and Ross Venus are released from the squad.

Russell said: “Picking a final 23 is never easy and this year has been no different.

“There will be some disappointed players who have not made the cut, but the competition for places really was intense.

“Losing Evan Mosey to injury is a blow but we have a quality roster going to Hungary next week.

“The squad has great balance and we have a nice mix of youth and experience across the roster.

“It will be a massive test for us next week but this squad is excited about representing their country and taking on some of the best nations in the world.

"We all know the challenges we will face but it is one we are looking forward to undertaking."

GB’s 23-man squad will now report back to training camp on Tuesday ahead of flying to Budapest on Thursday.


  • Ben Bowns – Cardiff Devils
  • Jackson Whistle – Belfast Giants
  • Thomas Murdy – Cardiff Devils (reserve)


  • Dallas Ehrhardt – Manchester Storm
  • Steve Lee – Nottingham Panthers
  • Ben O’Connor – Sheffield Steelers
  • David Phillips – Sheffield Steelers
  • Mark Richardson – Cardiff Devils
  • Zach Sullivan – Braehead Clan
  • Paul Swindlehurst – Manchester Storm


  • Ollie Betteridge – Nottingham Panthers
  • Brendan Brooks – Braehead Clan
  • Ben Davies – Guildford Flames
  • Robert Dowd – Sheffield Steelers
  • Robert Farmer – Nottingham Panthers
  • Luke Ferrara – Coventry Blaze
  • Mike Hammond – Manchester Storm
  • Liam Kirk – Sheffield Steelers
  • Robert Lachowicz – Nottingham Panthers
  • Matthew Myers – Cardiff Devils
  • Jonathan Phillips – Sheffield Steelers
  • Brett Perlini – Nottingham Panthers
  • Colin Shields – Belfast Giants


Belfast Giants Belfast 60 92
Cardiff Devils Cardiff 60 92
Nottingham Panthers Nottingham 60 70
Glasgow Clan Glasgow 60 67
Guilford Flames Guildford 60 67
Fife Flyers Fife 60 66
Sheffield Steelers Sheffield 60 64
Coventry Blaze Coventry 60 62
Manchester Manchester 60 59
Dundee Stars Dundee 60 58
MK Lightning MK 60 34
  2018/19 Standings  

Elite Ice Hockey League

The Elite Ice Hockey League (EIHL) is a professional ice hockey league in the United Kingdom formed in 2003. The league currently consists of 11 teams, with Belfast (NIR), Cardiff (WAL), Coventry (ENG), Dundee (SCO), Fife (SCO), Glasgow (SCO), Guildford (ENG), Manchester (ENG), Milton Keynes (ENG), Nottingham (ENG) and Sheffield (ENG).

Elite League Logo


About Flyers

The Fife Flyers, established in 1938, are the oldest professional ice hockey team in the United Kingdom. The team has a history of success through the ages, with over 60 Scottish and British cups and titles to their name.

Fife Ice Arena, Rosslyn Street
Kirkcaldy, Fife, Scotland, KY1 3HS 

Phone: 01592568702
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Flyers on Social Media


twitterFollow Flyers on Twitter at

Facebook    Follow Flyers on Facebook at

Instagram    Follow Fife Flyers at

S5 Box