Thursday April 19, 2018

TEAM GB | Brendan Brooks Retains Team GB Place for World Championships

Great Britain head coach Pete Russell has named his 23-man squad who will play in the first men’s World Championship in the UK for 25 years.

Belfast’s SSE Arena will host the six-team IIHF World Championship Division 1 Group B from 23rd to 29th April.

GB will come up against Japan who were relegated from Division 1 Group A last year and Division 2 Group A gold-medal winners Netherlands, as well as last year’s opponents Croatia, Estonia and Lithuania.

There are first World Championship call-ups for Brendan Brooks and 18-year-old Sam Duggan, while Josh Batch, Luke Ferrara, Jack Prince, Zach Sullivan and Ross Venus are released from the squad.

Liam Stewart is set to make his first World Championship appearance after being named in the 2015 squad in the Netherlands, but had to pull out because of injury.

Evan Mosey will fly in from North America this week to link-up with the squad for the rest of the training camp, before they depart for Belfast on Thursday.

GB warmed-up for the World Championship with two games against Poland this weekend, with the Poles winning 4-1 in Nottingham on Friday before Britain won 5-4 after penalty shots on Saturday in Coventry.

Russell said: “Cutting the squad is never easy but I believe we have a fantastic 23 players who want to create some history next week.

“We have great balance across the squad and I think we will be very competitive.

“We know that the aim is the gold medal and there will be pressure on us to perform, but I believe we have the right group of players.

“The players will experience something a generation of players haven’t been able to do by playing a tournament on home ice.

“Everyone is so focused and excited about the challenges ahead.”


Ben Bowns - Cardiff Devils

Stephen Murphy - Belfast Giants

Thomas Murdy - Cardiff Devils (reserve)


Mark Garside - Belfast Giants

Steve Lee - Nottingham Panthers

Ben O’Connor - Sheffield Steelers

David Phillips - Sheffield Steelers

Mark Richardson - Cardiff Devils

Paul Swindlehurst - Manchester Storm

Jonathan Weaver - Telford Tigers


Brendan Brooks - Fife Flyers

David Clarke - Nottingham Panthers

Russell Cowley - Coventry Blaze

Robert Dowd - Sheffield Steelers

Sam Duggan - Orebro (Sweden)

Robert Farmer - Nottingham Panthers

Robert Lachowicz - Nottingham Panthers

Evan Mosey - Rockford Ice Hogs (USA)

Matthew Myers - Cardiff Devils

Craig Peacock - Braehead Clan

Jonathan Phillips - Sheffield Steelers

Colin Shields - Belfast Giants

Liam Stewart - Coventry Blaze 


Cardiff Devils Cardiff 56 85
Manchester Manchester 56 75
Sheffield Steelers Sheffield 56 71
Nottingham Panthers Nottingham 56 71
Belfast Giants Belfast 56 70
Guilford Flames Guildford 56 69
Fife Flyers Fife 56 68
Coventry Blaze Coventry 56 55
Braehead Clan Braehead 56 54
Dundee Stars Dundee 56 48
MK Lightning MK 56 42
Edinburgh Capitals Edinburgh 56 11
  Full Standings  

Elite Ice Hockey League

The Elite Ice Hockey League (EIHL) is a professional ice hockey league in the United Kingdom formed in 2003. The league currently consists of 12 teams, with Braehead (SCO), Belfast (NIR), Cardiff (WAL), Coventry (ENG), Dundee (SCO), Edinburgh (SCO), Fife (SCO), Guildford (ENG), Manchester (ENG), Milton Keynes (ENG), Nottingham (ENG) and Sheffield (ENG).

Elite League Logo


About Flyers

The Fife Flyers, established in 1938, are the oldest professional ice hockey team in the United Kingdom. The team has a history of success through the ages, with over 60 Scottish and British cups and titles to their name.

Fife Ice Arena, Rosslyn Street
Kirkcaldy, Fife, Scotland, KY1 3HS 

Phone: 01592568702
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Flyers on Social Media


twitterFollow Flyers on Twitter at

Facebook    Follow Flyers on Facebook at

Instagram    Follow Fife Flyers at

S5 Box